How To Remove AVG Safe Search from your firefox browser

I just installed AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012 couple days ago. Today, when I start using my browser I realized that “AVG Safe Search” is hijacking my Firefox default search engine.

Btw I’m using Windows 7 Home Basic SP1 and Firefox 12.0.

After some search and some trial, finally i can free my Firefox from “AVG Safe Search”.

Here is what I did:
1. Delete the “AVG Safe Search” from your Firefox search engine lists
– Click the drop down menu on your Firefox search engine
– Click “Manage Search Engines…”
– A Form “Manage Search Engine List” will appear on your desktop
– Select “AVG Safe Search”
– Click on “Remove” Button
– Click on “OK” Button to close this form

2. Take back your homepage
– Click Tools on Firefox menu or press Alt+T
– Select Options
– Select General Tab (if you are on other tab)
– Click “Restore to Default”
– Click Ok to close

3. Disable the 2 Add-ons
– Click Tools on Firefox menu or press Alt+T
– Select Add-ons
– Click Disable button on “AVG Safe Search 12.0.0.2163 (this is my AVG Safe Search version”
– Click Disable button on “AVG Security Toolbar 11.1.1.7
– Click “Restart now” on one of the above
– Your firefox will be restarted.

4. Change “keyword.url” Firefox config(uration)
– type “about:config” on your Firefox address bar
– hit enter
– Click on “I’ll be careful, I promise!” button
– type “keyword.url” on th search menu
– select “keyword.url”
– right click on “keyword.url”
– Click on “Reset”

5. Change “browser.search.defaultenginename” Firefox config(uration)
– type “about:config” on your firefox address bar
– hit enter
– Click on “I’ll be careful, I promise!” button
– type “browser.search.defaultenginename” on th search menu
– select “browser.search.defaultenginename”
– right click on “browser.search.defaultenginename”
– Click on “Reset”

Congratulation for taking back your Firefox !

Gallery | This entry was posted in How To. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Remove AVG Safe Search from your firefox browser

  1. Lucia says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! Thank you ever so much! I’ve been fighting to remove Avg Safe search for ever and finally succeeded! Lovely things to you :) Lucia

Leave a Reply

